Achieving Healthy Blog

Helping you achieve the healthiest you!

Spicy Shredded Chicken & Beans {recipe}

Leave a comment

I’ve been dying to write lately, and just have not put the time and effort into it. Also, I’ve been really excited about cooking as long as I can remember, but I’ve really been having fun experimenting lately and I want to share what I’ve been cooking up with you!!

I’m in the kitchen bare minimum, once a week, so I’ve got a lot of backlogged recipes to get on the blog. But for now, I’ll tell you about my favorite go-to slow cooker chicken recipe!

The base of this recipe is one that I found over a year ago on Pinterest but learned quickly that I didn’t like half of the ingredients it calls for- so I put my own spin on it. I like this recipe a lot because it’s SO easy and it’s a good balance of healthy with a little not-as-healthy.

chx blk bn

Ingredients:
4-6 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2-3 cans of black beans, drained & rinsed
1 bag of frozen fajita veggies
1 jar of salsa (make your own if you can! you can find my homemade salsa recipe HERE)
8oz block of cream cheese (you can also find some great vegan cheeses if you’re dairy free or MAKE your own!)

Directions:
Place chicken in the bottom of your slow cooker. Pour all the ingredients over the chicken (I recommend adding the cream cheese second after the chicken). Turn slow cooker on low for 6-8 hours, stirring every two, if possible. When the timer goes off, give it a good stir and let sit for a little bit to let it solidify a little (it will be pretty runny). I like to take the big chunks out and shred them but you can leave them whole too. Serve over brown rice or quinoa and a bed of spinach. Also makes for great tacos, salad topping or mixed in with some veggie soup!

A few recipes to be on the lookout for…
3-ingredient pancakes; homemade pasta sauce; and the best Brussels sprouts EVER!

Author: coachabbeyc

Hi, I'm Abbey! A few years ago, if you had told me that I would one day be a Health Coach, I would have laughed in your face.... It has been a long journey getting to where I am today. I grew up the pickiest eater in the world, I didn't like a single vegetable except french fries, and I would literally gag any time an onion had mistakenly make it's way onto my pizza. Eventually, I started sneaking veggies into my food. Oddly enough, I loved the taste, just not the texture. So I would steam bell peppers and onions and then puree them to add to my mac n' cheese. Over time, I took more chances with different veggies. I would stick to the ones I knew I liked, like broccoli or artichoke and eventually began to expand my tastes just by trying new things, looking up how to cook them and kept adding more and more to my repertoire. Since 2011, the list of fruits and veggies I would eat have gone from about 5 to 50, or more! I now know what I was really missing out on when I was younger! In 2009 I started to learn a bit more about organic foods, but it was thanks to food documentaries like "Food Inc.", "Supersize Me", and "Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead" in addition to my training at IIN that I truly understood the tremendous benefits of eating organically and locally grown foods. As a woman who has dealt with the frustrations of constantly fluctuating weight, I am now at a place in my life where I can maintain a healthy weight through the right foods and exercise that I enjoy, and I feel I can relate to my clients in ways that others may not be able to. I know what it's like to give into the temptation of emotional eating but also, how to over come that. Food does not have to rule your life!

Leave a comment