Achieving Healthy Blog

Helping you achieve the healthiest you!

10 tips on cutting grocery costs

1 Comment

Think eating healthy has to be expensive? In this post, I’ll give you ten different ways to help you cut costs at the grocery store and get the most bang for your organic buck!

Shopping cart with vegetables

1- Waste not, will not! Save every part of your veggies, and turn the odds and ends into a homemade veggie soup. You can make this is bulk too, and freeze so you can always be prepared with a bountiful lunch option! Don’t have enough of veggie “rubbish” to make a full pot of soup now? Freeze it!
2- Look up what an actual serving size is to avoid over eating/spending/waste. Chances are more than likely you’re eating double if not more, than the recommended serving size.
3- Choose organic from the dirty dozen plus list/ the clean 15. Go standard on whatever else you feel you can’t afford.
4- Drink more water. Skip the coffee, tea, soda and processed juices. There’s absolutely no need to buy bottled water. Buy yourself a fun glass if it will more you more excited to drink from it!
5- Make your own almond milk. It’s actually quite simple, and almond milk lasts almost three times as long as cows milk!
6- Make your own nut butter. You don’t have to own a fancy nut butter machine, a Vitamix or any food processor will do just fine!
7- Skip the dessert. If you’re one who craves an after dinner treat, try reaching for a banana or an apple. You’ll still give your body the sugar it’s craving, without all the added sugars and chemicals. You can even use some of your freshly made nut putter to smear on top!
8- Buy a whole chicken and use it ALL! Here are a few good ideas of how to make a whole chicken last for many meals. Not to mention, the phenomenal benefits of bone broth. HERE is just a few reasons why you should consider eating it with a great recipe too!
9- Shop local/volunteer at a co-op. A lot of small, local shops will trade hours worked for merchandise or at least a sweet discount. Look here to find your closest food co-op, farmers market or CSA.
10- Make your own bread. Got a crockpot? Put that bad boy to use! This recipe looks delish!

Did you like this post? Make sure you follow me on Facebook and Instagram for more tips!

 

Author: coachabbeyc

Hi, I'm Abbey! A few years ago, if you had told me that I would one day be a Health Coach, I would have laughed in your face.... It has been a long journey getting to where I am today. I grew up the pickiest eater in the world, I didn't like a single vegetable except french fries, and I would literally gag any time an onion had mistakenly make it's way onto my pizza. Eventually, I started sneaking veggies into my food. Oddly enough, I loved the taste, just not the texture. So I would steam bell peppers and onions and then puree them to add to my mac n' cheese. Over time, I took more chances with different veggies. I would stick to the ones I knew I liked, like broccoli or artichoke and eventually began to expand my tastes just by trying new things, looking up how to cook them and kept adding more and more to my repertoire. Since 2011, the list of fruits and veggies I would eat have gone from about 5 to 50, or more! I now know what I was really missing out on when I was younger! In 2009 I started to learn a bit more about organic foods, but it was thanks to food documentaries like "Food Inc.", "Supersize Me", and "Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead" in addition to my training at IIN that I truly understood the tremendous benefits of eating organically and locally grown foods. As a woman who has dealt with the frustrations of constantly fluctuating weight, I am now at a place in my life where I can maintain a healthy weight through the right foods and exercise that I enjoy, and I feel I can relate to my clients in ways that others may not be able to. I know what it's like to give into the temptation of emotional eating but also, how to over come that. Food does not have to rule your life!

One thought on “10 tips on cutting grocery costs

  1. Great tips. Thanks for spreading the homemade nut butter love. 🙂

Leave a comment